Skip to content

Result of Maya Kamath Memorial Awards Competition 2016

March 30, 2017

Result of Maya Kamath Memorial Awards Competition 2016

Maya Kamath Memorial Awards Competition 2016 was organised recently. Total entries received was 105 for the Excellence in Political Cartooning, 45 for Best Budding Cartoonist Award and 75 for Best Foreign Cartoon Award. 10th Anniversary of the Indian Cartoon Gallery is being organized in the month of June 2917. The Cash Prizes of the Competition will be given away to the winners on the same ocassion.

MKM Awards for excellence in Political Cartooning – 2016
1st Prize T.K Sujith, Thiruvananathapuram Rs.25,000
2nd Prize Prasannan Anickad, Kottayam Rs.15,000
3rd Prize Dhananjay Ekbote, Aurangabad Rs.5,000

Special Jury appreciation prizes of Rs.2,500
Ajitesh Kar, Kolkota,
Sashi Kumar, Noida
Shounak Samvatsar, Mumbai

Best Foreign Cartoon- 2016
Wesam Khalil, Egypt $200
Lui Quiang, China $100

Certificates of Merit
Amir Soheilil, Iran
Cornel Cheorean, Romania
Saeed Sadeghi, Iran

Best Budding Cartoonist 2016
Debashis Singh, Bolangir, Orissa Rs.10,000

Opinion of the Jury
The jury for the Maya Kamath Memorial Awards met at the India Institute of Cartoonists Gallery on 27th March’17 to choose the award winners. The jury was delighted about he quality of entries which was excellent and was proof to the growing popularity of the Awards, Selection, it was agreed, was from from easy.

The Jury included Mr.Girish Karnad, Noted Playwright and actor. Mr S.G Vasudev, well known artist and Mr. B.G Gujjarappa and Mr.Satish Acharya senior cartoonist.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: